He could see every bone in my body – Scary

In the book I just wrote, “A Disney Childhood” there is a chapter about when I was 17 and living in Del Mar 1/2 block from the beach.  I daily went to the sunsets.  They calmed me after my Father’s recent death from cancer.  One afternoon when sunbathing a stranger approached me and asked if he could take my photo.  I asked why.  He said he a was an anatomy teacher and could see every bone in my body and wanted to use the slides to teach his students.  At the time I was flattered.  I’d achieved the ultimate anorexic goal.

Today when I tried on a summer skirt and it slide immediately to the floor I knew I was physically worse than I’d ever been trying to be “anorexic” but I don’t see it (until I try and wear last summer’s clothes).  I decided to take a risk and photograph my scar from liver surgery  (I’ll give him a photo when next we meet) but looking at the photos what amazed me was the upper body.  The top I put on didn’t fit.  I changed to one of my string bikinis I’d saved from my teenage years.  It fit.  And the result follows.  Anyone else in the world would rush me to the hospital.  But an anorexic of almost 40 years thinks, Gosh, I am skinny, but nothing really to worry about except making sure all my summer skirts have a pull string around the waist so they’ll stay on.  By the looks of me you’d think I was starving.  But back to “I don’t get hungry” as my reality.  I think I skipped lunch today, busy with other projects.  One good reason to not let the psychologically elements of anorexia take hold.  They literally can kill you especially if it gets mixed with some other disease that zaps your body’s extra fat.  Please everyone, have dessert and enjoy it.  I lost that abiiity 38 years ago.

 

About cathyshermanfreeman

A graphic artist for 30 years at Crystal Castle Graphics in Ashland Oregon working along side my husband, Brian Freeman, an artist and Celtic musician. Memoir: A Disney Childhood: Comic Books to Sailing Ships amazon.com Mother of two wonderful, funny, witty, talented, grown children who still show up at home most days??? Read my blog for more information
This entry was posted in Anorexia, Ashland, Cancer, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to He could see every bone in my body – Scary

Leave a comment